1" Freedom No Pull Harness

1" Freedom No Pull Harness
 
(67 reviews)  

5 stars
 65 review(s)
4 stars
 1 review(s)
3 stars
 1 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
67 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Victoria Slocum
Sep 2, 2013
We have used these harnesses with our greyhounds for years. They provide excellent control and prevent them from slipping out of a collar. We would highly recommend them!

Advantages: Excellent control, secure, works well with any dog with neck problems (one of our greyhounds has a disk problem in her neck). They are extremely easy to put on!

Disadvantages: None!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (24) / No (2)
Thomas
Jan 20, 2014
We had tried other anti-pulling harnesses and frankly I did not think this one would work either.

I was wrong. On the first walk, one of our champion pullers went from dislocating our shoulder to a slack lead walker. This product works!

The short lead length, I found very handy. When you have a puller, you don't really want a long leash. With this double leash attachment, your dog is right there by your side.

Advantages: The dual leash attachment is the key.

This harness, some patience, and positive enforcement will make your dog a slack lead walker too.

Disadvantages: It does take some time to initially adjust the harness. If your dog is especially squirmy, it helps to have two people. But once adjusted, putting on this harness is a simple one person job.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (20) / No (0)
Michele Matozzi
Sep 4, 2013
I ordered the Freedom No pull harness and leash set for my 5 year old very Pulling Great Dane. The minute I put this on her she was by my side and walked like a well behaved girl. I must say it was the best money spent. Can't wait to order another for my boy.

Advantages: Does exactly what they say.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (18) / No (2)
Kerry St Thomas
Sep 5, 2013
We ordered our first harness for a greyhound some six years back - we were nervous about a friend whose hound had slipped out of his collar. Our boy adapted very quickly to the leashpoint between his shoulders. When we got our second hound, we quickly learned that she pulled and pulled and pulled with a leash attached to her collar - so we got her a harness too. Very quickly, she stopped pulling, and was a lot happier on walks. We haven't looked back, and have been thrilled with them.

Advantages: Easy to put on; easy to train a dog to "nose into;" easy to adjust and fit especially with a deep-chested dog; velvet underband prevents chafing.

Disadvantages: None!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (17) / No (3)
Yvonne Dunbar
Jan 13, 2014
Love the harness. It made such a difference to our wolfhound x. He still pulls a bit but comparatively he is now so easy to walk.

All our foster kids are trained in the harness and we have found that when/if they go back to a collar there are few problems.

Advantages: Makes walking the dogs a pleasure rather than a chore. Lots of beautiful colors to choose from.

Disadvantages: None - other than deciding what color to buy - I want them all.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (15) / No (0)
Julie Moreton
Mar 17, 2014
Having only had Greyhounds who were always well behaved walking I never had the chance to use a harness until my rescue Great Dane came into my life, gorgeous bundle of fun but oh so big and strong, my husband was the only one who could walk her, she was way too strong for me. I bought a no-pull harness for her in the hope I could one day walk her after she had been trained not to pull.
I didn't have to worry about training, the first time we used the harness on her she walked beautifully, no pulling or tugging & walked right next to us instead of pulling out our shoulders, she is such a delight to walk now, I can walk her no problem even with her strength she is now very easy to control. I absolutely love it, thank you for such a great product in great colours (instead of boring black we see everywhere), she loves it as much as I do.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (10) / No (0)
Cheryl Cornett
Nov 17, 2013
I purchased two of these- one for my semi-tractor trailer truck of an AmStaff & one for my chocolate boy. They're amazing! Bess walks nicely by my side, no pulling! Finn has always walked nicely, but the bright orange is fabulous when we hike through the woods.

Advantages: No chafing under the front legs. I tried the Easy-Walk and it rubbed Bess raw behind her front legs. The soft velour is wonderful.

Disadvantages: None! Sturdy and well made!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (8) / No (0)
Jane
Sep 8, 2013
Love this harness and the beautiful color. I had one from 7 years ago and they last a long time (have two dogs).

Advantages: The velvet is soft and the no pull techniques really work on my two giant Old English Sheepdogs that could pull a semi-truck if they wanted.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (8) / No (2)
Shalise Keating
Dec 11, 2013
Fantastic harness. Adjustable. Love the velvet. Durable, washable. I have several in different colors and couldn't be more pleased with them.

Advantages: easy on off. Soft on the dogs fur/skin. Colorful
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (0)
Monica
Jul 9, 2014
I really love this harness because it fits my Boxer mix perfectly. I love how it is adjustable & easy to put on. I highly recommend buying the matching training leash, you will have the ultimate control with it.

Advantages: - The matching training leash gives you the ultimate control. I connect it to the harness & the other clip to the collar. Highly recommend.

- No chafing due to the soft velevet piece.



Disadvantages: - This harness will not train your dog to heel. You still have to do the actual training. (This should be a given, but some people think that they don't have to do the actual training)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (0)
Nina Rubin
Feb 14, 2014
Love this Harness, I have had one for over 6 years, and now need a new one as my dog has put on a few pounds!! Best harness for controlling pulling

Advantages: easy to use and works great
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
Gulru Batur
Feb 1, 2016
As a dog trainer, this harness is the number one product that I recommend my students. It is really suitable for my force-free training philosophy and makes the behavior modification process easier.

I am using and recommending Freedom No-Pull Harness for many years.

Advantages: Easy to put on.
Easy to fit. No problem if fitted properly.
The velvet chest strap is friendly with the dog's sensitive skin.
Since the design is smart the front strap doesn't get loose and slip down unlike the other front-clip harnesses by other brands.
Made from high quality material, durable.

Disadvantages: I wish there were also tweener sizes.
For a dog who is deep chested but not so wide in front I had really trouble with the sizes.

Since the dog's chest measure was 29"
I tried the L size harness: Chest strap fit perfectly but even I adjusted the front strap as smaller as possible it was still loose.

I tried the M size harness: Front strap fit perfectly, however, it was impossible to buckle the chest strap.

Result: I had to cut and re-sew the front strap of the L size harness. So the originality and durability of the product is broken.

***NOTE from 2HD: We are always happy to customize a harness for you so that we can ensure that the straps are sewn in securely, etc. Please feel free to contact us any time you have any issues!***
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Vicki Schaeffer
Feb 24, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I've purchased a few different brands of harnesses for what I call my hard to fit dog, and sadly none of them worked out. I decided to try this harness because I saw that one of my local holistic pet stores was going to start carrying them and the reviews on this harness were all great. I am so happy I decided to try this!! My dog is a German Shepherd/Collie mix crossed with a Keeshond mix that has Boxer. She looks like a small German Shepherd but her body is long like the Collie and she has that barrel chest like the Boxer does. This harness fits her like a glove and I have so much control on the walk. I would encourage anyone with a hard to fit dog to invest in this harness because it works!

Advantages: Fits great and easy to put on!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
michele
Jul 1, 2014
Our trainer had one of these and put it on my lab and he is a completely different dog you can walk him with two fingers where as before it was a struggle to get him not to pull . Best harness ever ....highly recommend it if your dog is a puller you wont be sorry
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
monica
Jul 13, 2014
I use mine for 2 pitbulls that are very stubborn and wild and I love it.

Advantages: I have complete control of them and they can't walk me instead i walk them.

Disadvantages: no disadvantages
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Megan Donovan
Aug 21, 2014
I am a dog trainer, and I absolutely love the Freedom Harness! I recommend it to all my clients, and use them for all my own dogs.

Advantages: Easy to fit to most breeds, velvet strap underneath is great for short haired breeds, gives great control over the dog, easy to put on

Disadvantages: None!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Temma
Oct 25, 2014
I had used a harness on my lil' pit in the past, resulting only in frustration. So I was skeptical about trying this product. I'm glad to say my fears were baseless. This is the best purchase I have ever made for my dog.
When using a martingale neck collar, my dog would become frantic and obstinate. She would dart all over, sniffing everything, bark at other dogs. I'm sad to say I couldn't control her.
But with this harness, she is not frantic. She doesn't freak out at any moving object. If she tries to pull or bark, I can easily correct her...and she listens.
As other customers have said, the harness isn't a magic bullet, but it is a gentle and comfortable way to help correct the dog.

Advantages: Velvet liner protects against chafing, easy to put on/adjust. I love that there is a buckle on each side!

Disadvantages: Umm...none.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (1)
Irem D.
May 13, 2015
This product is amazing. The transformation was instantaneous--my dog was a very heavy puller; walking him required all of my arm strength and was as frustrating for my dog as it was for me. Just by putting this harness on my dog, I can now walk him with one finger holding the leash, and I think our dog is just as happy about it as I am.

Advantages: Instantaneous transformation; the dog appears to be very comfortable and walking him is a breeze.

Disadvantages: The fit of the harness is a little awkward when using the front clip instead of the back one.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Carol
Jun 23, 2014
I have 2 Great Danes and have been using the no-pull harness for a couple of years. I love them.

Advantages: I like the fact that nothing is pulling around the neck. They quickly learned how to walk with the harness

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Gladys Stillwell
Jul 2, 2014
Great harness, dog puts his head right in it & then I clip the sides....so easy
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Kenneth G Nielsen
Sep 16, 2014
I just wanted to say how thrilled I am with the 'Freedom No-Pull Harness.' My Borzoi 'Lancie' hurt his neck by lunging forward with a regular collar and Flexi-lead (which I will never use with him again.) By Doctor's orders I was to use a harness for Lancie and discovered the 'Freedom No-Pull Harness.' What a marvelous invention. 'Lancie' loves it and is my closer companion now as we walk safely and in control together. Thank You 2 Hounds Design.

Advantages: Safety and Control are the advantages of the 'Freedom No Pull Harness.'

Disadvantages: There are no disadvantages as the 'Freedom No Pull Harness' does the job it was intended and designed to do.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Caren Harris
Dec 29, 2014
The fit of this harness is better than anything I have ever tried. I am ordering a replacement for one that my dog managed to escape from when she was on her own walkabout… I am actually relieved that she was able to get out of it as I suspect she was trapped in thick briars. I left it on her because of the bright orange color. She resembles a coyote, and I don't want anyone mistaking her for one! And, because she blends into the woods, I am able to spot her more easily. That said, this harness is really best used on leash, and not left on a dog at other times. I typically only attach to the top ring, but notice great improvement in her manners when I clip to front and top. Thank you for this genius design, and quality craftsmanship.

Advantages: Fit, Color, Ability to control
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Michaela C
Mar 20, 2015
We got this for our very pull-y husky after trying and being disappointed by the Gentle Leader. Within the first walk we noticed a huge improvement in our dog's behavior. While he still has pulling issues, he now understands, thanks to the control loop on the back, the connection between him pulling the leash too taut and the walk momentarily stopping. This is a great product for pullers!

Advantages: Works as advertised, dog adjusted to it quickly

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Ancela
May 9, 2015
We have a 150 pound male bullmastiff whom we trained using another brand of no-pull harness. It worked, but left patches of exposed skin in the spots where the harness rubbed. We switched to the Freedom No Pull and voila -- problem gone. My dog is very much under control using the Freedom, and now he keeps all his fur too. Woo hoo!

Advantages: Extremely well made and effective.

Disadvantages: None at all. We love 2 Hounds Design!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Stephanie
Jul 5, 2015
This is the best harness I have found and I've tried many. I have a dog that goes off at a moments notice and this harness keeps he and I calm. Highly recommended for nervous and reactive dogs. T-touch is a beneficial skill to know when putting it on for nervous/fearful dogs.

Advantages: Soft material, two clips so the dog doesn't have to step into it, easy to fit to exact body type, well made, price is amazing for the design.

Disadvantages: I don't want to get it wet because I don't think it would hold up.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)