5/8" Freedom No Pull Harness SMALL DOGS

5/8" Freedom No Pull Harness SMALL DOGS
 
(9 reviews)  

5 stars
 7 review(s)
4 stars
 1 review(s)
3 stars
 1 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
9 results found
Show results 1 - 9
Suraya
Jan 6, 2014
I love these harnesses. I have two Standard American Eskimo mutts. One of my dogs did not understand that she was not to pull. She is "special" and takes a while to grasp new concepts. After many failed attempts with other products, I decided to try this one. At least when she pulled, she wouldn't hurt her neck. The first time I put this harness on, with the leash connected to both the front and back as suggested, she stopped pulling right away. It did take a couple days for my girls to get use to wearing a harness. 9 months later, I only have to clip the leash onto the back and still no pulling. I do suggest watching a video on how to fit the harness properly.
I have used these harnesses every day and they still look good as new, minus the dirt stains.
Well worth the money.

Advantages: *Stops the pulling habit cold
*Multiple methods to attach the leash as training levels change
*Harness (no choking or straining the neck)
*Does not tangle long hair, even after wearing them on all day hikes
*No rub marks!

Disadvantages: *The training leash is really designed for a heel position only, not to allow the dogs the room to roam. I tried attaching another leash to it to make it longer, but then the split leash part would get tangled in their feet.
*A bit difficult to put on with long haired dogs do to how tight it should be, but that is expected with long haired dogs and buckles.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (8) / No (0)
Joanna LALOS
Sep 2, 2014
This really made it easy to walk my dog who tended to pull.

Advantages: When you use both front and back latches I can hold Wooster close when going through crowds or inside a building and/or home as we are a certified Therapy Dog Team. I have been working with the shorter version leash as I purchased at local pet store. I have just ordered the "euro" leash which is longer to use in our daily walks.

Disadvantages: I was so excited about the velvet around the under "arms". However, on one side the hardware lands right there in the "arm" pit making the velvet useless. I am in process of trying to find some velcro'd material to cover hardware.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
Holly
Aug 19, 2016
I much prefer these harnesses to other harnesses as they ride higher on the chest and fit better. I have found connecting the leash to the front chest clip alone much better for a dog who pulls than clipping to both front and back. You lose the leverage when clipped to the back. But it is better clipped to the back if you are giving your dog a run or swim on a long line.

Advantages: Really helps keep dogs from pulling (altho hard-core pullers can still drag you if you let them. Training, not equipment, is really the key to polite walking). Like the velvet in armpits.

Disadvantages: For some dogs, buckle hits right under armpit. You can order one size up and adjust belly strap so it doesn't buckle under armpit.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
PoeyYT
May 13, 2015
I love the velvet, it doesn't chaff my dog. My dog wear the harness all day without any problems. He's comfortable in it and can sleep with the harness on. My dog is Houdini and have got out of several harnesses. He hasn't managed to escape from this one yet.

Advantages: I switched from the gentle leader to the freedom harness. The front loop allows better control. My dog is a determined terrier, if only the back loop is hooked, he will still pull if he wants to chase something.

Disadvantages: Initially when I started to use the training leash, it gets entangled after walking a while. Takes me some time to get used to the lease.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
tom
Jun 24, 2014
this harness works great.i purchased one for my puppy,but now i have to get a larger size.

Advantages: gives you control over the dog.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (1)
Rachel
Jan 4, 2017
Great concept. It is well made and very comfortable for my dogs to wear. It is also easy to put on. I just wish it came in a smaller size. I got the xs for my 2 dogs whih is still too big. Their chest measures at 13" so they can slip out of the harness pretty easily. As a result, I dont use it often. Hopefully one day there will be a smaller size in xxs for my dogs.

Advantages: Well made
Easy to use
Comfortable

Disadvantages: Too big, can use an xxs
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Amy
Feb 9, 2017
Works great for my Puggle's! Would like more color scheme options.

Advantages: No cruelty. Very safe and effective.

Disadvantages: Gets worn quickly. We take lots of walks.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Suzanne Myers
Feb 2, 2017
The best harness I've ever used

Advantages: The velvet like fabric that goes under & around the front legs prevents any chafing which I've had with other harnesses.it launders beautifully.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Deborah Persing
Feb 4, 2017
These are the only harnesses we use. We purchased the originals at the Greyhounds Reach the Beach even for our Greys. And now we use them for our Boston's as well.

Advantages: I use the chest loop when I train and walk the Boston's. They're faces are too small for the gentle leaders. It's made a big difference for the kids who typically pull.

Disadvantages: Can't think of any - except I wish they had yellow in the small dog size.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)